Debs G Baking Challenge: Mr Fox’s Foolproof Blueberry Cobbler

HA HA! I have successfully completed one of the Challenges that A Becky C gave me earlier this year! And it is delicious. And everybody loved it!

Blueberry Cobbler is what I would consider an idiot proof dessert.

Why do I consider this idiot proof?

Because it was the dessert that my good friend Mr Fox1 made when he visited me during his Tour of Europe.

At the time, I was a medical student living in a rented ramshackle hut. The kitchen had a linoleum floor from the 1950s that was only partially in our plane of existence. We had no baking equipment except a malfunctioning oven which you had to light by turning on the gas and then sticking your head into the oven with a burning taper.

Dangerous? Yes!

Did that deter Mr Fox? No!

Mr Fox coolly bought some blueberries from the market, and then magically produced this amazing dessert which my starving housemates and I demolished in a matter of seconds. That guy is Fantastic.

I’ve tweaked his recipe a little bit to make it more child-friendly (and by that, I mean, it is a low sugar version), and I think it turned out pretty well! I’ve also added additional Thermomix instructions at the end of the recipe for those of you who own magic self-stirring pots.

Mr Fox’s Foolproof Blueberry Cobbler Recipe

Ingredients:

  1. 1 ¼ cup all-purpose flour
  2. ½ cup sugar
  3. 1 ½ tsp baking powder
  4. ¾ cup whole milk
  5. ⅓ cup softened butter
  6. 2 cups blueberries
  7. 1 tsp vanilla extract

(note: You can increase the amount of blueberries if you like!)

blueberry-cobbler-recipe

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 170°C
  2. Add 1 tablespoon of sugar to the vanilla extract and set aside.
  3. Add the rest of the sugar, floor, baking powder, milk and butter together and mix until smooth
  4. Pour batter into an ovenproof dish. I used an 8″ square casserole dish.
  5. Sprinkle the blueberries over the top
  6. Sprinkle the sugar and vanilla extract mixture over the top
  7. Bake at 170°C for 45minutes
  8. Enjoy on it’s own or with vanilla icecream (or custard!)

blueberry-cobbler-delicious-dessert

Extra Thermomix instructions for the batter:

  1. Soften butter at 50°C at Speed 2 for 3 minutes
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients as detailed in the method above and blend for 10 seconds on Speed 6

1. Mr Fox is so named because of his true name, his ruddy red locks and his ‘Auntie Killer’ personality. He is a multilingual lawyer who runs marathons, helps inner city youth on his days off and bakes delicious blueberry cobbler, so yeah, he is Fantastic. I’d introduce him to all you single ladies out there, but unfortunately, he has only recently married a very handsome veterinary doctor.

16 thoughts on “Debs G Baking Challenge: Mr Fox’s Foolproof Blueberry Cobbler

  1. Ooooh Can I just eat without cooking because I’m really bad in the kitchen. But really, everything needs an effort. I haven’t been putting in much effort in the kitchen and always busying myself with everything else. I hope I can snap out of it soon because my husband really does like a good meal.

    • Yup, you can just use a regular fork to whisk it up if you have a blender, it works well too. The resulting mixture is quite runny so it’s easy to pour.

  2. Looks yummy to me too, I can’t bake and had an oven(unopen) sitting in my kitchen since March. Finally some motivation of the first opening and using of my new oven. Haha.. Thank you so much for this recipe.

  3. THIS. LOOKS. SO. GOOD!!! Anything blueberries is a hit for me and anything blueberries + ice-cream? OK this is totally going into my bookmarks. Thanks for sharing!!

  4. Pingback: Sisterly Challenge 2016 results – Baking Challenge: PASS | Owls Well

Leave a Reply

