Baby Essentials: Packing my Diaperbag (ft. Baby K’tan Smartgear Diaperbag)

Since Thumper started weaning, I’d been on the look out for a diaper bag that would fit all the extra barang-barang that I would need to carry around with me.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the Skip Hop diaper bag that was part of the SG50 Jubilee Baby Gift. It was more than adequate, but it wasn’t as large as I would have liked it to be.

I mean, here is what was going into my SG50 diaper bag before I started weaning Thumper onto solid foods:

  • Nappies (4 cloth diapers max)
  • Baby wipes
  • Wet bag
  • A complete change of clothes for baby
  • Baby K’tan Sling
  • 2 x extra large muslin cloths
  • Toys for Thumper – usually a Cloth book and two small teethers
  • Stuff for J and Little E – mini colour pencil set, notebook, hand sanitiser, mosquito repellent, sunblock
  • My stuff – wallet, keys, pen, hairbrush, lipstick, tiny first aid kit and phone
  • Umbrella
  • Water bottle

Although I could fit all of those things neatly into the SG50 diaper bag, it only had a magnetic closure on the top, so I couldn’t shut the top of the bag. Not really great for security, and if my bag ever tipped over, everything just fell out. Plus, I needed the extra space so that I could fit in Thumper’s weaning paraphernalia which consists of:

  • Sippy cup
  • Food Thermos
  • Tupperware of snacks
  • Two flexible plastic spoons
  • Two bibs
  • Two face cloths
  • Extra wet bag

There was just no way I could fit the extra paraphernalia into the bag without taking out some of the other stuff that I was carrying about. I desperately needed to upgrade my diaper bag. This is why when Happy Coast Kids contacted me to ask if I would like to test-drive the new Baby K’tan Smartgear Diaperbag, it was like a dream come true!

When I first received the bag, I was completely smitten with the cute and modern Dandelion print. I was also pleasantly surprised to find that it was a lot roomier than expected without being bulky. Not only could the bag manage to hold all the daily essentials as well as weaning apparatus, but there was also plenty of room to spare… AND it zips up securely on the top!

Baby-Ktan-Diaperbag

The Baby K’tan SmartGear Diaperbag in Dandelion print

I have been using this bag for nearly half a year now, and it is not only stylish and practical, but it has a couple of unique features that I find incredibly useful.

First of all, the Baby K’tan Smartgear Diaperbag has a built-in zippered wetbag that has an anti-bacterial, odor-resistant, leakproof, food-safe lining. It’s roomy enough to store all of Thumper’s weaning paraphernalia, along with some fresh fruit like apples and bananas for the big ones. I can also use it for storing wet umbrellas or sodden clothing without worrying about it messing up the rest of the baby stuff.

Secondly, it has a total of 12 compartments (including the built-in wet bag) which fits all my stuff whilst keeping it organised so that I can find everything at a glance – and two of those pockets are also lined with with same waterproof antimicrobial fabric as the wet bag. This means that I can store Thumper’s teething toys in there without worrying about them getting filthy. The inner lining of the rest of the bag is made from a BPA-Free, PVC-Free, polyurethane laminate which is waterproof, so it is not only easy to clean but is also baby-safe and I don’t have to worry about leaks.

Thirdly, the bag is lightweight and really comfortable. The exterior of the bag is made of 100% cotton and the carrying strap is soft and flexible, yet strong, so that it doesn’t dig into my shoulder. It is adjustable so that both I and The Barn Owl can wear them over-the-shoulder or cross-body depending on our preference. The straps also have a neat swivel hardware that clips on each end so that they don’t ever get twisted (a particular pet peeve of mine is carrying a bag with twisted straps). I also really appreciate the extra little clip-on straps that allow me to hang the bag from the handles of my stroller with ease.

Finally, the bag is machine washable and holds up well to multiple washes. Trust me, Thumper can be a very messy little baby when he tries, so I appreciate a bag that can be dumped into the washing machine at the end of the day!

baby-ktan-bag-smartbag

Out and about with the Baby K’tan Smartgear Diaperbag

As you can see from the picture above, I’ve been taking this diaper bag all over the place and it travels really well. The bag has been in attendance at picnics in the park, sandy playtimes on the beach and on long aeroplane flights. (By the way, if you’re wondering what I usually pack in my carry-on for flights, here’s my packing list)

I can see myself using this bag long after Thumper is out of diapers! It makes a great picnic bag and would also make a great swim bag or gym bag.

The Baby K’tan Smartgear Diaperbag is available in a variety of patterns at Happy Coast Kids and retails at SGD$99.80 inclusive of free delivery within Singapore – which I personally think is a real bargain!

2 thoughts on “Baby Essentials: Packing my Diaperbag (ft. Baby K’tan Smartgear Diaperbag)

  1. Oooooh this is so pretty and useful! I’m definitely going to check it out when the twins are born, and I’m in need of some retail therapy and pretty things. 😉

    • Definitely consider it! I can put twice the number of cloth nappies in it now, so if you’re into disposables it will definitely carry all the twin things!

Leave a Reply

