Midweek Break: Funtimes with the official Star Wars App

Okokokokokok so it’s clear from our previous posts on Owls Well that we are all Star Wars fans here, which is why I got really excited by this new Star Wars app from Lucasfilm and Disney Interactive that just launched this week.

This is the app you are looking for

This is the app you are looking for

It’s basically a customisable news aggregator that updates daily (and in real-time) bundled in with exclusive digital media content like sound clips, emojis, animated GIFs and behind-the-scenes videos.

What I am most excited about are the interactive features such as the augmented reality camera feature that allows one to unlock 3D characters from the upcoming Star Wars film Star Wars: The Force Awakens as well as the Star Wars “Selfie”.

Although the app is compatible with both iOS and Android interfaces, I was not able to download it on my Sony Experia smartphone (even though I have Android version 4.4, and this app should work on Android 4.1 and up).

Fortunately, I managed to get it on the Aged P’s iPad, which led to an afternoon of fun taking Star Wars selfies!

Little E-Leia, Debs G trapped in carbonite and J channelling Anakin Skywalker whilst wielding Mace Windu's lightsaber.

Little Leia E, Debs G trapped in carbonite and J channelling Anakin Skywalker whilst wielding Mace Windu’s lightsaber.

We took lots more of these selfies and I had far too much fun trying to imitate the expressions of various Star Wars characters, much to J’s horror and delight.

“Argh, Mummy, you are so embarrassing!” he said, grimacing at me in between chuckles, “I feel so embarrassed!”

Everything is proceeding as I have foreseen

Everything is proceeding as I have foreseen

Tip of the iceberg, baby. I haven’t even got started being embarrassing yet! Just wait until you hit your teens.

Download the official Star Wars App FREE from the Apple App Store or Google Play

4 thoughts on “Midweek Break: Funtimes with the official Star Wars App

  1. Ohhhhhhh YES…… You have no idea, baby boy… Embarrassing? This is like 1 on the scale, out of the 10000 that your momma is capable of. Don’t ask me how I know.

Leave a Reply

