Preparing for Baby: Getting over Pregnancy Skin Woes (with Curél)

Baby #3 is coming very soon and we are all agog with anticipation! I thought I would share with you some of the things that I have been using in order to get ready for the arrival of the baby! This post will be the first in a series of posts about preparing for the arrival of baby.


Pregnancy is supposed to give a woman that ‘pregnancy glow’, which I highly suspect is merely the sheen of perspiration that I appear to be covered with for most of the day. My skin definitely does not glow. Pregnancy hormones have brought me dry hair, and it only stands to reason I am suffering from dry skin as well.

Dry skin in pregnancy is pretty common, and most women will experience some skin tightness and dryness, especially across the belly as it balloons out more with each passing month. The stretching of the skin causes dryness and itchiness, which is awful to deal with because scratching will just aggravate and worsen stretch marks. I’ve also been getting random patches of eczema on top of it all, which has been most inconvenient.

Apart from applying copious amounts of lotion, I have been on the lookout for moisturising body washes that would help with the eczema and the healing of broken skin, so I was very pleased when Curél contacted me and asked if I would like to try out their new foaming body wash from their Intensive Moisture Care range.

I am literally itching to use this body wash

I am literally itching to use this.

I remember Curél as one of two brands of body soap that A Becky Lee used when she was a little girl growing up with sensitive, eczematous skin. At the time, the dermatologist advised my parents to avoid foaming or liquid body washes which are generally much more drying to the skin than bar soaps, so Curél slowly fell out of favour with my family.

However, in the twenty or so years since then, Curél has developed a fragrance-free, alcohol-free skincare range for dry and sensitive skin which claims to cleanse without stripping the skin of its natural moisture barrier by adding moisture-retaining ceramide to their products.

WARNING: SCIENCE!!!!

Ceramide is a naturally occurring lipid found in the outermost layers of our skin, and it has the special properties of being able to bind to water molecules, forming sandwich-like layers that create a natural barrier to keep skin hydrated. Keeping this natural barrier intact is also key to protecting the skin from external irritants which will exacerbate flare-ups. There is some evidence that skin problems like eczema and dermatitis are related to ceramide deficiency. This is why topical application of ceramide in the form of therapeutic lotions and cleansers has been shown to speed up the healing of mild-to-moderate eczema.

The first time I used the Curél foaming body wash, I noticed that the skin over my burgeoning tummy felt much less tight and uncomfortable after my shower, and that the patches of eczema were noticeably less inflamed in appearance. Additionally, I love the luxurious texture of the fine lather which is so gentle on the skin – and both J and Little E really enjoy it too! It makes their skin feel very silky after a shower. We’ve all been using the Curél foaming body wash for over a month now and one pump or two of foam really goes a very long way.

I am very pleased to report that after a few weeks of using the body wash in conjunction with my usual moisturising regime, the patches of eczema have healed up very nicely! Hooray!

A Special For Owls Well Readers: Curél Singapore is very generously sponsoring one bottle of Curél Foaming Body Wash to FIVE lucky Owls Well Readers! Thank you Curél Singapore!

To take part in this giveaway:

  1. Be a fan of the Owls Well Facebook page
  2. Like and share this post on your Facebook Page and tag three friends – make sure your post is public!
  3. Leave a comment below telling me about how you keep your skin in tiptop condition, as well the name of your Facebook account that you used to like and share the page. Don’t forget to include your email address! (If you would like to send me the email address privately, leave a comment for the other answers, then email me at 4owlswell [at] gmail [dot] com)

(Giveaway is open to readers with a Singapore mailing address and will end on 30th April 2015. Winners will be picked via Random.org – just make sure you complete all 3 easy steps!)

If you would like to try a sample of products from the Curél Intensive Moisture Care range, you can visit the Curél Singapore Facebook page here. Otherwise, you can find Curél products at Watson’s and Guardian stores across Singapore.

P.S. Check out Missus Tay’s review of Curél Instant Foaming Body Wash on her severely eczema-prone little girl

Update: This giveaway is now closed and the winners have been contacted via email. Thanks for playing!

12 thoughts on “Preparing for Baby: Getting over Pregnancy Skin Woes (with Curél)

  1. As much as I remember, I’ll always apply sunblock when I go out. I’ve eczema and dry skin too, so I’ve to use soap meant for such skin as well. And moisturize at least twice a day in the morning and after showering!

    FB: Ai Sakura
    email: sakuraharuka at live dot com

    Ai @ Sakura Haruka

    • Oooh, which sunblock and moisturiser do you use? Right now I am using an anti-stretchmark moisturiser from Clarins and it’s really luxe. The kids and I use Nivea spray on sunblock at the moment (when we remember! I’m so terrible with sunblock.)

  2. I like the moisturising effect of a ‘castille’ wash on my skin – is sounds different from ceramide, but supposed to have the same effect? Thankful that my family doesn’t suffer from eczema, but B has very rough skin around her feet and ankles so maybe this will help.

    Lyn Lee

    lilbluebottle (at) gmail (dotcom)

    • ‘Castile’ soap just refers to an olive-oil based soap invented in Europe, and refers back to when English crusaders brought back oil-based soap from Spain where there were laurel-oil soap-making factories founded by Muslims in Castile, Spain (amongst other places). So it will be super-moisturising and hypoallergenic because it is rare to develop a reaction to olive oil, making it super-good for eczema!

      Ok, history lesson over.

  3. I hardly take care of my skin except to slap on moisturizer before I go to bed, even then I don’t do it daily…But for my daughter, as she has ezcema on her arms, I religiously apply cream on her few times a day 😛 Hope to win this for her to try.

    Angie.S
    angelinesim(at)yahoo(dot)com

    • Angie, you must be one of those lucky women who have that peaches-and-cream complexion that needs no tweaking! But yeah, it’s funny how we will religiously do things for our kids which we fail to apply to ourselves. Like putting on sunblock (in my case).

Leave a Reply

