Tradition: The Mixing of Two Cultures

Happy Chinese New Year Debs and our readers!  Given the season, I’ve been thinking a lot about Tradition recently and I’ve been listening to Fiddler on the Roof a lot too.

I was really surprised to note that it is super popular in Japan!

Joe Stein, the man who originally wrote Fiddler on the Roof was once asked how an American audience could possibly understand his own play given that it was “so Japanese”.

I guess the themes of tradition, the loss of tradition, interracial marriage and preservation of culture can really strike a chord with any audience.  Times are always a changin’, after all.  I guess I’m glad that we’re no longer in such a closed culture that my upcoming marriage with The Boobook and yours with the Barn Owl are no longer frowned upon so terribly.

That being said, how do you balance the traditions of both our culture and the Barn Owl’s culture in your family?  After all, I’m sure that the Barn Owl has traditions that he holds dear as well and we must not be fooled into thinking that our culture is the only one that counts.  I know that J and Little E are learning Mandarin and both have Chinese names, but how do you balance everything well?

In any case, I’ll leave you with one last thought.  I’m a big fan of the Japanese culture, so here’s a video on how to eat sushi.

 

One thought on “Tradition: The Mixing of Two Cultures

  1. Hm, this is going to take some careful thought. Raising kids of two cultures isn’t easy and neither is interracial marriage. Let me organise my thoughts and I’ll get back to you. It might be more than one post, but the looks of things!

Leave a Reply

