Bouncing Baby Blankets

Hi Debs, I’m super-stoked to get a new nephew!  Congratulations!

When J was born, I made a blanket for him and when Little E was born, I made her a huge cotton cot cover and an elephant stuff toy to cuddle.  I’ve even made them some nice clothes to visit their grandparents with!

Little boat coat made from 8 ply wool.  I combined 3 patterns to make it.

Little boat coat made from 8 ply wool. I combined 3 patterns to make it.

It stands to reason, therefore, that I should be knitting the new baby a little something something.  It’s only fair.  Now, although I’ve made J’s stripey boat coat, I’m much better with textured patterns like Little E’s red riding hood cape.

Little E's red riding hood cape, 16 ply on a blueberry stitch base.

Little E’s red riding hood cape, 16 ply on a blueberry stitch base.

So, I was thinking of making another baby blanket – one more suited to the warm Singaporean climate.  I’ve got some leftover white wool from another project I’ve been working on – a good, sturdy fingering weight merino.  It’ll be nice and thin, but warm and breathable.  I’ve picked the pattern off Ravelry, but I think that since it’s a little boy, I’m going to go for a traditional viking inspired pattern (the one I’m thinking of is the white teppe blanket).  What do you think?

I’ve started on it already, so hopefully, you’ll love it!  By the way, if there’s any other knitted stuff you’d like for the baby, let me know!  I’m always open to new projects, especially projects that allow me to use fancy dyed wools that I can get off Etsy.

3 thoughts on “Bouncing Baby Blankets

  1. Meimei, seriously, you make the most awesome stuff for the kids. I defer to your excellent taste and skills when it comes to picking designs. I think the viking blanket you picked would be VERY COOL.

    • You can get the pattern for that coat at the website linked. It’s really very easy to do and you can make it as long or short as you wish. The best part is that it becomes a short hood for bigger girls and is a whole cape for smaller girls.

Leave a Reply

