The Barn Owl reads Literature: Nocturnes by Kazuo Ishiguro

The Barn Owl’s review:

This is a book with lots of words in it.

If you have enjoyed other works such as the Concise Oxford English Dictionary and Last Week’s Grocery Shopping List, then Nocturnes by Kazuo Ishiguro should be right up your street.

In this book there are five short stories that are all about men who are doing things in their lives. One story is about a man who has practiced his cello. Another story is about a man who made a sandwich. There is also a good story about a man who visited his friends.

The Barn Owl Says: If you like reading books with words, especially words that are strung together to form sentences, this book has many sentences and many words for you to read. I cannot recommend this book enough. Seriously. It is not possible for me to recommend this book more.

A short note by Debs G:

This is a book that was given to me by a very dear friend of mine for my birthday, just before Little E was born. I don’t know if it was a combination of pregnancy hormones and my delicate state of mind, but all I remember about this book is that I read it and I cried ALOT. Oh yes, I was bawling and snivelling the whole way through the book because it just made me have so many sad feelings. SO. MANY. SAD. FEELINGS.

However, when I think about the book now, I honestly have absolutely no clue what the stories were about, except that reading them turned me into a Giant Soggy Bundle of Despair. This probably has something to do with the way Kazuo Ishiguro tells stories. I distinctly remember watching ‘The Remains of the Day’ when I was in University and then being slowly mopped off the floor by my long suffering housemate. Just thinking about that film brings tears to my eyes even though I cannot actually recollect the plot of the film, except to say that Anthony Hopkins was lonely in black and there were pigeons flying in his house and it all just made me feel so very, very sad.

P.S. Here’s the book trailer for Kazuo Ishiguro’s Nocturnes which pretty much sums it all up very nicely:

P.P.S. For more comprehensive book recommendations, check out the Owls Well Summer 2014 Family Reading List here!

Leave a Reply

