Escher Would be Proud

The one thing, and almost the only thing, that I hate about vacations is the packing. Here I am, ready to take a much needed stress relief break from work and I am never sure exactly what I want to bring with me.  That, and I can never figure out how to fold things to maximise the use of space in my suitcase.

Packing Pro.  Plug in the numbers and hope.

Packing Pro. Plug in the numbers and hope.

There are alot of online lists on stuff to bring on travel trips, but they’re never well catered for more than a week stay or assume far too many things about my lifestyle.  Currently, I’m using a little program called Packing Pro to help me with packing my suitcase.  While I find the expert help wizard somewhat useful, it really assumes far too much about my lifestyle and often suggests inappropriate things to bring[1].  Also, it doesn’t often take into account the reasons behind my trip and sometimes suggests inappropriately bulky and silly things to bring, like umbrellas and binoculars.

Thankfully, I now have one of those massively oversized American Tourister DC Superlites, which means that packing for me now consists of just lobbing clothes into the case and then sitting on it to zip it shut[2].  So, while I can stuff the suitcase with as much clothing as I’d like despite not knowing what clothing I might need.  The result is always the same:  I end up on the other side of the world from my home with something completely useless, like a Playstation 2, and missing some vital object needed to continue life, like my toothbrush.

Just fling everything in there and strap it down.  It'll be all right.

Just fling everything in there and strap it down. It’ll be all right.

Meanwhile, the Southern Boobook has figured out a way to distort the laws of space and time with his packing method by fitting more things in his tiny tiny tiny suitcase.

Seriously, I have no idea how he manages it because after reaching the destination, he unpacks the stuff he’s brought and then can’t fit it back in the suitcase again.  It’s insane.

After reaching Singapore, he unzipped it and all the clothes just burst out like that creature in Alien.

After reaching Singapore, he unzipped it and all the clothes just burst out like that creature in Alien.

I wish I could do that.


[1] Like suggesting that I bring 14 condoms on a 14-day trip to Singapore.

[2] My previous suitcase was a navy blue Samsonite lovingly nicknamed Gimpy for its broken wheel.  Gimpy was a very loyal suitcase and put up with my over-stuffing him all the time and my poor handling for many years until all his locks and handles gave way.  RIP Gimpy, you were too good for this sinful Earth.

Leave a Reply

