I Need a Little Teapot

A fine example of a bodum teapot, except mine had a dark green plastic base and handle.

A fine example of a bodum teapot, except mine had a dark green plastic base and handle.  Note the roundness.

Once upon a time, when I first moved to this apartment, I had a little Bodum teapot.  It was a cute teapot of glass that served me well, even if it did only make about 2 cups of tea per brewing.  I loved this teapot.  Its round shape was reminiscent of the budum sprites in Harvest Moon (whose favourite drink is, incidentally, tea).  Plus, I really loved how the filter prevented loose leaf tea from spreading to the rest of the pot.

Unfortunately, this roundness served in its demise.  One windy day, after it was washed, the little Bodum teapot rolled off the drying rack and, with a terrific crash, shattered onto the tile floor below.

So, I did what any good teapot owner would do.  I swept the pieces up into a bag, mourned the loss of my teapot and then went out and purchased a new teapot.

Green tea canister from T2, perfect for storing tea leaves.

Green tea canister from T2, perfect for storing tea leaves.

I found the new teapot at a bargain sale at the local T2.  T2, by the way, is not known for terrible merchandise – most of their stuff is incredibly well made and the blends of tea that they sell are fantastic.  I keep my loose leaf teas in one of their air tight Japanese-style tea canisters and it has never ever failed to keep the tea fresh as the day it was bought.  I highly recommend them.

Unfortunately, the new teapot is not one of the usual quality merchandise I normally get from T2.  The new teapot was advertised as a no drip teapot.  It has certainly been quite true to its advertising.  Tea poured from this teapot does not drip.  It does, however, spill all over the place due to the unique design of the spout, which is curled in around itself, ensuring that the maximum amount of tea dribbles down the side of the pot onto the table.

My stupid teapot.  Note the multilevel spill of water on the desk, down the keyboard tray and onto the chair below.  Good thing I didn't waste any actual tea.

My stupid teapot. Note the multilevel spill of water on the desk, down the keyboard tray and onto the chair below. Good thing I didn’t waste any actual tea.

Not only is this teapot the worst teapot ever, but it is also plain, white and boring.  It pretends to be a good Chinese-restaurant style teapot, but it is all lies.  It was the only teapot I could afford at the time, though, so I guess the price was reflective of its quality.

Now that I’m a little more well off, I need a new teapot.  Preferably one that doesn’t waste my tea.  Any suggestions?

7 thoughts on “I Need a Little Teapot

    • Nice one, Mel. Unfortunately, my sister is the sort of person who seems to do everything by accident. Therefore, she is likely to break a fragile object by handling it too carefully.

  1. Pingback: How to avoid Drips (when selecting a Teapot) | Owls Well

  2. I can’t believe T2 sold you such a poor quality teapot, without batting an eyelid! You should give them some feedback! They’ve got such a lovely collection of teas, that I find it very hard to believe that they can’t produce a good teapot. Tsk.
    The Bodum teapot is so pretty, but it is pretty fragile, isn’t it? Sorry I can’t offer you any good suggestions. I get my tea fix from Gong Cha, though some hot tea would be lovely in this cold winter. Good luck with your search!

    • I think a lot of their gear is all right, particularly their storage stuff, but their teapots aren’t that great. Then again I might be wrong, as I haven’t shopped for teapots from them for some time.

Leave a Reply

