The Playlist

This, this right here is exactly how I get out of bed and get to work every morning.

Admittedly, I’m not really into heavy dance music like Vinyl Scratch is, but I do try to ensure that I have music playing throughout the day, particularly when I’m alone in the filing room, which has great soundproofing and wonderful internal acoustics.  I’ve often found that having music playing helps the work day go faster and keeps a sort of tempo to which the rest of my tasks sort of flow easier.

So, here are the songs I tend to listen to and the actions that they’re mapped to (you can also access this entire playlist of songs here.:

Waking up:  Digital Love by Daft Punk (from the Discovery Album)

This song automatically cues up on my phone at bout 6.30 in the morning.  It’s great to wake up to and the lyrics are kind of sweet.  Plus, I like the way it starts with that soft buzzing – much less jarring than an alarm clock.

Getting ready for work:  Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger by Daft Punk (from the Discovery Album again)

This song is another of those daily automatic cues, which starts up at about 7.45.  Why?  Because the length of the song is exactly how long I need to style and brush my hair, pick up my work pass, get dressed in a full business suit, check my phone, wallet and keys and head out the door if I’m in a hurry.  As an added bonus, having it play at 7.45 means that I’m out the door in time for a leisurely stroll to the bus stop to catch my bus.  It never fails to get me there on time.  As an added bonus, the song comes straight after Digital Love on the Discovery album AND the lyrics remind me to do my best at work.

Getting to the Bus Stop:

(Gettin’ my strut on) Sweet Dreams by Eurythmics  or Battle without Honor or Humanity by Tomoyasu Hotei

There’s nothing like these classic songs to get my strut on, so to speak.  If I’m needing that little bit of a confidence booster or just want to feel like I look good and am going to kick butt in general at work, these are the songs to get me there.

(Dance to work) Tank! by The Seatbelts or In the Mood by Glenn Miller

If it’s a nice morning and the street is relatively clear to the bus stop and I don’t have any pressing urge to get there in a hurry, then I cue these on my soundtrack and boogie down to the bus stop.  Mind you, I only do this if the street is empty of pedestrians and if I’m particularly early to the stop so that nobody can see my awful dancing and so I don’t put anyone’s eye out with my randomised flailing.

(It’s a beautiful morning!) For the First time in Forever from Frozen, Haven’t Met You Yet by Michael Buble or Over the Rainbow/What a Wonderful World by Iz Kamakawiwo`Ole

Now, if it’s a particularly nice morning and I just want to enjoy it, I listen to these three songs, or something similar.  Michael Buble’s song is pretty cheery sounding if I ignore the words.  The frantic pace of For the First Time in Forever really helps me to get excited about being outdoors, but the mix of Over the Rainbow and What a Wonderful World by the late Mr Kamakawiwo`Ole is just the most relaxing, a love letter to good mornings everywhere.

You’ll note that I’ve not listed anything if I’m actually late for the bus.  This is because I don’t usually have time to change the music on my iPhone when I’m sprint-chasing down a bus.  However, I imagine that if I was running for the bus, I’d like to have the Gunsmith Cats OP playing.

Filing:  Rescue Me by Fontella Bass, King of Anything by Sara Barellies, 16 Tons by Tennessee Ernie Ford or any song by Tom Lehrer (but particularly The Masochism Tango)

Anyone reading this list probably has a good idea of how I feel about filing.  Still, the filing room at the office has fantastic sound proofing and really great acoustics, so they lend themselves really well to soul music and allow me to sing along to all my favourite soul songs, of which Rescue Me is my absolute favourite.  King of Anything is a good one to sing and file to and is often particularly relevant on some days.  For bonus points, open and close the clips on the lever hinge binder to the time of the beats in the music.  On particularly bad days, however, Tom Lehrer music never fails to cheer me up.

End of Day, Close of Business: King of Spain by Moxy Fruvous or Another Irish Drinking Song by Da Vinci’s Notebook

Well, at the end of the day, I love listening to happy, cheerful and completely pointless music.  It’s a great way to end the day.

What’s your playlist like, Debs?

Leave a Reply

