Playing with Food: Making Pizza

Last week, Little E went to the kitchens of a local Italian restaurant (who does not wish to be named), in order to learn the secrets behind their tasty, tasty pizzas.

It’s so much fun to play with food! I mean, why play with playdoh, when you can play with real dough that you can actually eat?

If you’re looking the ingredients list for a really great pizza dough and tomato marinara sauce you can try these from Buddy Valastro the Kitchen Boss (which I have reproduced below – just click on the links for the full recipe):

Buddy Valastro’s Pizza Dough Ingredients:

  • 3/4 teaspoon active dry yeast
  • About 15 ounces unbleached all-purpose flour (about 3 1/4 cups)
  • About 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons lukewarm water
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil

 Buddy Valastro’s Marinara Sauce Ingredients:

  •  2 (28-ounce) cans of crushed tomatoes
  •  2 (15-ounce cans) of diced tomatoes in juice
  •  1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  •  2 cloves of garlic
  •  Kosher salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  •  1/2 cup fresh basil leaves

P.S. Watch our first episode of Playing with Food here.

edit: You may have noticed that I have edited the content of this post as well as the accompanying video since I first posted it! This is at the request of the Restaurant-who-shall-not-be-named.

Basically, after I published the original post and video, I posted a gushing review on the Facebook page of the Restaurant-who-shall-not-be-named and sent off glowing email of thanks to them in which I extolled the virtues of pizza and all pizza-making persons involved in the running of the workshop. I provided the links to this post and the video, as well as my contact details (which are also freely available on the Owls Well Facebook page and Owls Well Vlogs Youtube channel)

In response, the Restaurant-who-shall-not-be-named contacted Little E’s school to demand that ‘their parent’ remove the video and blog post from the public eye. I was personally shocked and saddened when Little E’s teacher told me of this and decided to wait to see if I would get a response from them directly.

After a few days, I had no response from them…so I put on my deer stalker hat and decided to Investigate.

It turns out that the restaurant is worried that the video is in violation of their franchising agreements!

The horror!

Although I would have appreciated it if they contacted me directly to voice their concerns (instead of tattling to Little E’s school principal), I still agreed to edit my post and video to blur and obscure the restaurant logos, as well as remove all traces of their presence from this post, in the interest of More Pizza For All!!!

4 thoughts on “Playing with Food: Making Pizza

  1. Little Miss E is getting cuter and cuter! Love how she did everything so carefully (and how you fast-forwarded those parts haha), and gosh, that proud smile at the end, as she gave you the thumbs up while eating, was soooo adorable. Good job, Little E. What a fun excursion!

Leave a Reply

